Rethinking my love of music…

April 11, 2009 at 9:06 pm (Music)

The poll is just for fun and to give me an idea of what kinds of music my readers listen to. I find it nearly impossible to answer this question as my taste in music has morphed so much over the years…maybe it would be easier to explain if I started from the beginning.

I didn’t have any real interest in music until the age of 13…my dad liked jazz and bought me a few Lee Morgan CD’s when I was a kid, but aside from that, music wasn’t really a part of my life. During the summer before 8th grade I purchased the album that truly got me interested in music: Nirvana‘s self titled tribute album (with a black cover). I can remember flipping the CD and being truly puzzled by some of the song names: “Smells like Teen Spirit?”, “Heart Shaped Box?” “Pennyroyal Tea?”…..What could these songs be about? As soon as I pushed the CD into my CD drive and hit play, I was hooked. I can honestly say that some of these songs changed my life. Soon after I purchased my second album “GNR Lies” (the classic Gun’s and Roses CD). With these two cornerstone purchases, my musical love began to grow. I loved everything hard rock, from the rock immortals Led Zeppelin to the mellow harmonizing of the Grateful Dead. Six months after my first CD purchase, I had bought my first electric guitar and was well on my way to becoming the avid musician that I am today.

Throughout my life I have picked up a love of tons of different types of music: My love of country and blues came from Johnny Cash (does it get any better than “Ring of Fire”?) and Stevie Ray Vaughn. My love of Metal came from bands like Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, and Iron Maiden (which has led me to my current favorite band, Megadeth). Despite my Hardrock roots, I even developed a love of Rap, especiall some of the old school stuff (Notorious B.I.G., Tupac, Too Short, Grandmaster Flash)…I love all kinds of music as they all influence my own music making.

What are some of your favorite bands? Feel free to leave a comment or two with your thoughts on the subject!
-Jon

2 Comments

  1. Abby said,

    It doesn’t get much better than Hey Hey What Can I Do by led zepplin.

  2. Bryce said,

    No love for Blues, eh?

Leave a Reply

