Bands that I have been listening to lately..

April 18, 2009 at 11:54 pm (Misc, Music)

MOTORHEAD
Its been a while since I have made just a casual post, so I figured I would write about some of the bands that have really interested me lately…I am not huge into the super non-main stream and underground (mostly because the music scene up here in Alberta is small an untalented), but I have been digging some late 90’s stuff recently.

  • Scott Weiland Bands-Or more specifically, Stone Temple Pilots and Velvet Revolver. “Interstate Love Song” might be one of my favorite songs at this point…it includes an interesting chord progression which I appreciate musically, as well as a catchy rhythm with meaningful lyrics. Overall, I think STP is really overlooked by most of the public…They have produced numerous good songs throughout the years along with a few truly classic albums (I would strongly suggest picking up Purple). Fun fact: Dave Mustaine of Megadeth was the one that found them and boosted them into the main-stream. Velvet Revolver has only produced one album as of yet (Contraband although 2nd one is already semi released) but damn was it a good one. With songs like “Fall to Pieces” reaching commercial popularity, they are fairly popular band currently. My personal favorite: “Slither”. Classic Slash, complicated riff’s and all.
  • Sound Garden- …Hell of a band. Although greatly overshadowed by contemporary artists like Pearl Jam and Nirvana, Sound Garden managed to produce one single that remains popular to this day (“Black Hole Sun”), while producing numerous others than remain precious to their fans. “Spoonman” and “Jesus Christ Pose” are among my favorite SG singles, but I would strongly suggest picking up or downloading their first two albums (Badmotorfinger and Superunknown). Fun Fact: Chris Cornell, the bands front man and eventual lead singer of Audioslave, started out as the bands drummer but was moved up front when he decided to start singing for the group.
  • Motorhead- Ha sorry I don’t know how to do the dots over the o. I can’t say much about Motorhead that hasn’t already been said… living legends. This is pure hard rock/metal at its fast and toughest best. They removed the blues ( or pentatonic) influence behind most metal bands up to that point, amped up the tempo, and proceeded to take the metal world by storm. Any song or album they have is worth listening to on principle alone.

Just a few of my current favorites….Their is just way too much good music out there to listen too. Somtimes its hard, as a musician, to digest it all…but hey, that wont stop me from trying! Thanks for the read!

1 Comment

  1. Abby said,

    I have always loved Scot Weiland. One Christmas our parents gave me a CD player and a stone temple pilots CD. It was the Purple CD. I loved it. I listened to it over and over and over again! So cool that Dave Mustaine found them- he’s a smart guy.

Leave a Reply

