Finished the first draft of “Falling Apart”, and am working on a solo….

June 1, 2009 at 9:44 pm (Music)

Iron Maiden
I decided to incorporate the intro to my second song (“Falling”) into my first song; I am using it as a transition from the solo to the main chorus line and I think it works pretty effectively. Not only does it sound pretty good, but it also allows my hand to slip down to the end of the guitar where the chrous and the verse are played. Here is the first draft: “Falling Apart” Draft #1.

I intially meant this first song to be a two guitar attack, meaning that one guitar would play the lead line and the other would play the rhythm section. The only issue is that, for the most part, I was only using the rythmn guitar for harmonization. Harminzation is when one guitar plays a riff at a certain octave, and another guitar plays the same riff at a different octave, creating a ear appealing affect. A key example of “harmonizing guitars” can be found in the “The Trooper” by Iron Maiden. Anyways, I decded to start working on the solo for “Falling Apart”, and thus I needed to also write a rythmn line to play under it. Here they are; keep in mind these are very early drafts and the solo is played at half speed:

-“Falling Apart” Solo (half speed) Draft # 1

-“Falling Apart” Solo Rythmn line Draft #1

Anyways, sorry for the long time between posts, but I have been really busy. I am renting an apartment next fall with a buddy of mine in Eugene Oregon, and I need to get a ton of stuff ready before I move. Thanks for the read!

Leave a Reply

